November 19, 2010

  • spring schedule

    spring schedule so far

    • research methods
      study of scientific reasoning and critical thinking, correlational and experimental research approaches, including control, designs, statistical analyses, and hypothesis testing
    • psych of language
      study of language behavior and its relation to learning and thought processes. attention to language acquisition and psychological phenomena of speech and speech perception. social aspects of language and non-verbal communication
    • masculinities
      examines how masculinities are constructed and represented culturally, socially, and institutionally; how race, class, gender, sexuality, age, ability, and nationality inflect understandings of masculinity; how masculinities may reproduce or challenge inequalities
    • rape and sexual assault
      explores the realities of rape in our culture with special attention given to acquaintance rape. also: society’s response to and perpetuation of rape on both grass roots and institutional levels. areas to be explored will include: activism; education/prevention; advocacy; legal and therapeutic theories

    alsoooo one of the following:

    • psych of perception
      perceptual processes of form, color, movement, space, localization, and constancy. consciousness.
    • psych of memory and thinking
      theories and research regarding the mental processes of acquiring and retaining information for later retrieval, and the manipulation of that information for complex skills such as reasoning, decision-making, and problem solving
    • modern philosophy
      philosophy of the 17th and 18th centuries: bacon, hobbes, descartes, spinoza, leibnitz, locke, berkeley, hume, and/or kant. topics may include: subject/object, mind/body, self/other; theories of knowledge; ethical and political theories
    • later greek and roman philosophy
      selected works of the ancient stoics, epicureans, skeptics, and neoplatonists in their historical and cultural contest
    • history of christian thought
      a survey of representative thinkers and documents of the christian tradition, from biblical times to the present. also: the christian encounter with other religions and cultures
    but which one?  vote now. :P

Comments (8)

  • I have read back on several of your blog entries trying to get the “feel” of you.  I was getting nowhere fast you are most definately eclectic.  So I thought…instead of picking one I would rule out one and then another and come to the one I thought best suited.  Your interests and the philosophy of love let me know you would love Plato.  So one I might choose for you would be “Later Greek and Roman Philosophy”….the other would be “History of Christian Thought” because of the christian encounter with other religions and cultures.

      I read your blog on “Coming Out” and your objections to coming out as anything but yourself, no lables, no fences, the possibility of encumbrance ( A family charge or care; especially, a child or a family of children) without obligation.  I know for me, until I studied other peoples philosophies I did not know my own.  I am what they call a Christian but I have learned to listen to other faiths, to accept other behavioral norms for other faiths and the commonality in most major religions, I think it would give you an even greater foundation to be able to accept that which you have rejected as being “you” but that the other person has a “you too”.  A Desiderada sort of thing, both you and your philosophies have a right to be here, and they and their philosophies have a right to  be here also, just like the trees and the grass, the air and the water…all inclusive to make the world and the universe what it is designed to be.

    Such as it is, from what little I know of you, it seems like either of these two classes could broaden your horizons even more than they are now.

  • memory and thinking! trust me, the christian one gets boring after about 300 CE. but then again i hate studying monotheism. 

  • also with the christian one, once you hit augustine you just start getting angry. er, i did. it wasn’t until we hit 20th century christian thinkers that things got a smidge more interesting. but only a smidge.

    but, ah, i’m really not trying to discourage you if you’re interested.      :P

  • By the way, thank you for including me in your protected posts :? ).

  • I am so jealous, I can’t register until Monday because I’m technically still a sophomore. Boo. I hated research methods but it’s probably because I hadn’t taken statistics before and you’re supposed to (at least here) so it was over my head. The teacher sucked too. I would do psych of perception because I looooove perception.

  • @mommachatter - this was really cute, and helpful, and encouraging. :) i appreciate the thoughtfulness and that you’ve read some of my back posts. makes me feel worthwhile or something like that. :)  and… i don’t think you have the ability to read my protected posts, but i could give you that ability if you’d like it. i haven’t been posting protected in awhile – i was doing it a lot while i was really sad – but recently i’ve been too busy to write at all.  i made my sight friends locked or xanga lock or whatever because i was afraid of outside viewing outside of my control. but yeah. :) thanks for following.

    @TheBillion - i decided against the history of christian thought. i get glimpses of it in everything else i study, especially in the classes that focus on women’s history, because women have been oppressed by christian thought for so long.  i signed up for late greek and roman philosophy, but that doesn’t mean i’m going to stay in it.  i really want to reach my “west” history requirement before my senior year (i.e. get it out of the way this upcoming spring semester) but i might not…. it’s a toss between psych and philosophy… either i take philosophy next semester and am forced to take one of those psych classes next year, or i take one of those additional psych classes next semester and take philosophy next year.  i still don’t know for sure what i’m doing. but i agree with you about the history of christian thought making me angry.

    @suggestivetongue - i had HUGE problems with my registration.  i had a sophomore-status registration date as well, but i had other problems in addition to that… like, there was a hold on my record because i hadn’t gotten in my health information… another hold because my composition i and ii credits from my last institution didn’t transfer… all kinds of complications. the only reason i have any psych classes at all is because the department chair did an override for one of the classes (research methods) and opened up an extra course for the department (psych of language) – and they don’t even have a professor for it yet. psych is high-demand. it’s pretty crazy. but good luck with you and registration! i have faith things will work out for you. :)
    also- what is it you like so much about perception? for whatever reason i’m least interested in that class out of all the rest of them. if i decide to drop greek and roman phil, i’m leaning towards picking up psych of memory and thinking.

  • @xthread - mmm. greek and roman philosophy would be rewarding too, i’d think. that was my second choice ;)

  • @xthread - I started to like it after taking a neuroscience course. Just realizing that we see things differently then the next person fascinates me. Like I might see red different than the person next to me. Or some studies done on rats I think? I forget the details but I think it was something like they didn’t let them rats see certain shapes or angles so when they finally were introduced to them they couldn’t see them and ran right into them or something. I think it really breaks down “we all see the world differently” into a more literal sense lol

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *