June 23, 2009

  • 1 Cor 13


    If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.  Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.  And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Comments (14)

  • Beautiful scripture and amongst my very favorite...Nuff said

  • saaaaaaaay you didnt ryte that  btw yer recent portraits/avatarz ar quite gud

    peace

  • @pansybradshaw - Thanks for the compliments, Bradshaw. :)

    I stole this little tidbit here. 1 Corinthians 13.

  • @ShamelesslyRed - Ironically, when I younger I used to focus on the verses explaining love's characteristics, verses 4-7.  But revisiting this scripture lately I tend to focus on all those other verses that I used to "miss" much more. It doesn't make sense to me to separate the scripture that way any longer.  It is meant to be read in its entirety, and to me reads much more powerfully that way.  Just something I've been reflecting on these past 48 hours or so.  If I have not love, I am nothing?  That is extraordinarily powerful.  Oh, and thank you for the Rec. :)

  • az xtian skripture goze thiz raynks in the top ten ive alwayz benna fanna this partikular sekshun of paulz werk

  • they said this at my cousin's wedding.

    :D

  • @pansybradshaw - I'm often interested in the things Paul has to say.  I find it interesting how favorably Paul looked upon singlehood and yet today's Christian church is so marriage-focused, like seriously there is some marriage tunnel-vision going on.  I'm always interested in what the modern-day Paul would have to say about that.  I'm often interested in what a modern-day Paul would have to say about a lot of things.

    @champagne4losangeles - If I considered marriage for myself, I would want this spoken at my wedding.  I've seen it recited at many weddings I have been to and worked at.  It's a fantastic piece of scripture, everything about it is beautiful.  :)

  • quite true you shud do a blog on the subjekt of sakred singulness not only for revlyfe but for queerish az well

  • paul...not quite sure how i feel about that pri...that guy. sometimes he's right on, sometimes he's an intolerable bitch.

    this, like bradshaw says, is one of his finer legacies. what's got me curious though is the whole tongue of angels business. that's a language i'd love to learn. i bet it's exquisite.

    /mythological ruminations. :)

     also, great profile pic.

    erm, also, what translation is this from? them's pretty syntaxes.

  • You are pretty good looking guy. I think the battle of trans is very difficult, and I seem to be in that battle too. I've read your blogs and I'm finding truth.

    Thank you.

  • @TheBillion - Ah, you're cute. :)   The translation I used was the NIV, and I agree with you about the syntax.  Why do you think Paul is a prick?

  • @secretrainbow21 - You're very welcome.  Let me know if I can discuss anything with you further.

  • I love 1 Cor 13.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment